ALUMNI PROFILE: Louise Ashdown

When were you a choral scholar?
I was a scholar from September 2020 to June 2021, though I continued to sing with the choir until November 2021 before moving down south. I’ve come back at least a few times a year since to visit and join the choir for various projects, including the recording and launch concert for ‘Rise Up and Wonder.’

What attracted you to the scholarship programme?
Having come over from Canada, I was interested in joining a cathedral choir and getting to know the UK choral tradition more. I was also already familiar with Catholic liturgy so it was a natural fit! The low commitment also worked well with my masters studies at the Royal Northern College of Music.

What did you get out of it? Were there any challenges/highlights?
I got so much out of my choral scholar and subsequent time with the choir! I absolutely loved singing with my fellow scholars, but also the voluntary members of the choir and getting to know the broader cathedral community. A challenge that I really enjoyed was learning how to read neumes and chant notation, and also learning new music each week. Alex does an amazing job blending the traditional sacred polyphony with the new works and integrating music by female composers. Highlights from my time as a scholar include singing for BBC broadcasts, the many solo opportunities within Mass and in concerts, and the overall support of the choir from the cathedral community.

What did you go on to do after you left?
Shortly after finishing at the RNCM, my husband got a new job which took us down to Newbury, Berkshire. As it’s quite close to Oxford, I’ve been establishing myself in the choral scene there and now regularly sing at the Oxford Oratory (putting my chant skills to good use). Last year, I completed a choral scholarship with the Oxford Bach Soloists and have since joined them for various concerts including their London premiere performing Bach’s Christmas Oratorio. I am also on the dep list at New College and Christ Church Cathedral. I also regularly sing with Kantos Chamber Choir in and around Manchester. In addition to freelance singing, I work in Learning & Participation at the Corn Exchange theatre in Newbury and am loving working in the arts in a different context. Apart from the admin aspect of the job, I’ve gotten to facilitate various music-based sessions for parents and babies, people living with dementia and their carers, and visually impaired people.

What do you have coming up?
After a busy festive season of singing, I have a bit of a much-needed break, but in the coming months am looking forward to singing Stainer’s The Crucifixion at the Oxford Oratory and joining Formby Choral Society for Mozart’s Requiem and Bach’s Magnificat as the mezzo soloist. Now that I’m more settled in Newbury, I’m also hoping to put together a recital and share some of my favourite music with my community.

FOLLOW:

Instagram: @louiseashdown_mezzo
Facebook: www.facebook.com/louiseashdownmezzo
Website: www.louiseashdown.com

Leave a comment